COVID RESPONSE
Southeastern Synod ELCA

Faith Formation Days for Laity

Sunday’s in October 2020 - 3:00-4:30pm EDT / 2:00-3:30pm CDT via Zoom

October 4 - Worship 101:  Why We Do What We Do
October 11 - Say Her Name: Naming the Witness of Nameless Women in the Bible
October 18 - With Glad and Generous Hearts:  a Look at Stewardship of Self, Congregation, and Church
October 25 - Telling the Story of Jesus:  Evangelism in the 21st Century 

Click HERE to learn more and to register.

WEBINAR: Congregational Presidents and council leaders (ROUND 5)

Monday, September 21 2020 – 7:00-8:15pm EDT / 6:00-7:15pm CDT

Hosted by Bishop Strickland and synod staff

Our synod staff will share what resources are already in place and wish to hear from you about what is most needed in your contexts.  We thank you for joining in this ministry we do together.  We are here to help you support your pastors, deacons, and staff with this information.

Click here to learn more and to REGISTER.

Sermons from Your Synod Staff (In English and Spanish)

The Bishop and Assistants are recording sermons during this time of physical distancing.  We will post these sermons here and host them on our synod YouTube channel. We are continually posting these sermons as a resource for pastors in need of a respite and to help share in the Good News of Jesus Christ.

Click here to see the video or to download a written copy of our weekly sermons.  (English and Spanish videos available.)

ALSO, we are including a link to the sermon (in .mp4 format) if you wish to download the sermon and insert it into your worship service.

FOR ANYONE NEEDING A LOW-TECH OPTION, just dial this number to listen in:

678-379-4840.   

Just follow the prompts!!!   

+Bishop Kevin Strickland

Synod Prayer Team

FIRST PRAYER SESSION is Monday, 9/21, 9:00am EDT / 8:00am CDT

Bishop Kevin Strickland is putting together a synod prayer team. This team will meet with him once a month via zoom to pray. Praying for the needs of ourselves, our neighbors locally and globally, the needs of the church and world, and for what else might be in need that day of prayer.

CLICK HERE to learn more and to SIGN UP!

Being Church in a Digital Age

September 14, 21, and 28 - 11am-12Noon EDT / 10-11am CDT

In a matter of weeks, digital ministry moved from the fringe to the spotlight for many congregations. As it becomes clear that digital ministry is not just a short-term solution, but a long-term element of congregational ministry, the North Carolina Synod, the Southeastern Synod, and the Virginia Synod invite you to a three-week webinar series exploring what it means to be the church in a digital age.

Click HERE to register and to learn more.

(BONUS:  Week 1's video recording and resources are already posted!!!)

Virtual Milagro Gala 2020

In case you missed our VIRTUAL GALA, you can still participate by viewing and donating here:

https://www.elca-ses.org/GALA

The Southeastern Synod has hosted a Guatemala Gala the past two years to raise funds for the MILAGRO Women’s Education Center. We weren't able able to gather in person this year, but the Guatemala Gala 2020 foreged ahead - VIRTUALLY! The virtual gala was held Saturday, September 12th at 7:00pm EDT. The replay is available on our Gala page, and so now you watch from home while enjoying your favorite Guatemalan food. Invite friends to join the virtual gala. You won’t want to miss this exciting event!

The virtual Guatemala Gala 2020 includes:
- Music Premiere of the Aurora Octobre 8 Marimba Band of Guatemala
- Message from Bishop Kevin Strickland
- Updates from ILAG: Pastor Karen Castillo, Diego Gil and others
- Updates from the young women studying at MILAGRO
- Experiences and stories from Southeastern Synod members who have shared time with our friends from ILAG and the young women from MILAGRO
- And more!

#MILAGROGALA2020

Click here to watch and to donate, today!

A time for listening and learning: From Racism to Racial Healing

For Rostered Ministers Only...

  • Monday, October 12 at 1pm EDT / 12Noon CDT, or
  • Monday, October 26 at 6pm EDT / 5pm CDT
The Southeastern Synod is offering a time for all of our rostered ministers to continue our work on combatting racism. We are honored to have Dr. Catherine Meeks lead us in this conversation.  CLICK HERE to learn more and to register.

PHOTOS AND STORIES OF INSPIRATION view all
God's Work. Our Hands.COVID-19 Food Insecurity Grant - Celebration, Mt Juliet, TNProviding Books and Activitiy Bags to the Children in our CommunityA Heart for Art745 Inspirations!!!On This Corner for a Reason

Submit your inspirational photo/story