2021 Synod Assembly

"To EQUIP – EMPOWER – ENGAGE the Beloved Community"

 

2021 Synod Assembly

Click below for Synod Assembly materials

Synod assembly materials

2021 Southeastern

Synod Assembly

Saturday, June 5th

 

9:00am– 4:00pm ET /
8:00am-3:00pm CT
on a digital platform

 

 

To view the entirety of the 2021 Southeastern Synod Assembly, please see the YouTube recording of our live event:

 

 

 


The 2021 Southeastern Synod Assembly theme is to EQUIP – EMPOWER – ENGAGE the Beloved Community.

For 2021, the Assembly will be held on a digital platform. All voting members will be given log in information and instructions on how to participate.  Visitors to the Assembly are able to participate through the Live Stream on the Synod’s Facebook page throughout the day.
 

Assembly Materials

This year’s Assembly will include: 

  • Worship
  • Bible Study by the Rev. Dr. Albert Starr (Senior Advisor, Ethnic Diversity for the ELCA)
  • Introduction to the En Conjunto Latinx Ministry Strategy for the Southeastern Synod
  • Elections for: 
    • Synod Secretary
    • Churchwide Assembly Voting Members
    • Synod Council, and other Synod positions
  • Adoption of the Ministry Spending Plan

We have a lot of work to do together as the Church and we are excited that even though we are unable to be physically together we can gather as the Beloved Community in this unique way.

 

Assembly Offering

The Offerings gathered for the 2021 Southeastern Synod Assembly will be dedicated to the Diversity & Justice ministries of the synod.  Scan the graphic below, or click HERE, to make an offering today:

At the 2021 Synod Assembly, we will hold several elections.  Click the links below for more information:

June 2 - passive "test"

Purpose:  simply figuring out how to login to Lumi

7:00-8:00pm ET / 6:00-7:00pm CT

Purpose:  Simply log in to Lumi using your email address and the Synod Assembly LUMI password that will be mailed to you before the date of this test.  The Synod Assembly Help Desk (404-589-1977) will be available to take your calls.


June 3 - LIVE "test"

30 minute sessions starting at 6:00pm & 7:00pm ET / 5:00pm & 6:00pm CT

Purpose:  Voting members will be invited to attend a 30-minute practice session with the digital platform to allow all voting members to feel comfortable with the work of the Assembly.  Voting members will learn how to participate in the voting, speak to a motion, address the Chair, access Assembly materials, and ask questions about how the Assembly will be conducted.   The Synod Assembly Help Desk (404-589-1977) will be available to take your calls.

Voting members will be automatically registered for this event when they register for the Assembly and a log in information will come in a follow up email.  

Friday, June 4, 2021

4:00 PM - 5:15 PM Eastern / 3:00 PM - 4:15 PM Central

Or

7:00 PM - 8:15 PM Eastern / 6:00 PM - 7:15 PM Central

There will be two opportunities to participate in Assembly Hearing on the 2022 Ministry Spending Plan and a workshop focused on  becoming a Reconciling in Christ (RIC) congregation.  These events are open to all.  The Southeastern Synod’s Diversity and Justice Taskforce is presenting the RIC workshop.  Both sessions will be held by Zoom and registration for this event is below:

Register Here

 

Looking for one of the videos aired during the 2021 Southeastern Synod Assembly?

A few of our 2021 Synod Assembly videos can be found here:

videos

 

Synod Assembly ARCHIVES can be found HERE.